The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

By: The Group of 33

Published October 20th 2005 by Portfolio (first published January 1st 2005)

Category: Business

Pages: 208 pages

ISBN: 9781591841036

Description:

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, theyÕre petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things theyÕve always done.

In 2003, Seth GodinÕs Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable‰ÛÓto drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business-Week bestseller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, ÒThatÕs not good enough. We need to create a big moo!Ó

But how do you create a big moo‰ÛÓan insight so astounding that people canÕt help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the worldÕs best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with thirty-two of the worldÕs smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team‰ÛÓwith the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board‰ÛÓcreated an incredibly useful book thatÕs fun to read and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply.

The Big Moo is a simple book in the tradition of Fish and DonÕt Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.